Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Short of time travel or discovering a very old calendar, we will never know details of the days between Palm Sunday and Maundy Thursday.  Luke writes broadly, “Each day Jesus was teaching at the temple, and each evening he went out to spend the night on the hill called the Mount of Olives, and all the people came early in the morning to hear him at the temple.”  Luke 21:37-38 NIV

We are very thankful His words were recorded by the Gospel writers, but we hunger to know more.  Did someone offer Jesus a bed at night or did He curl up under the stars He created?  Did He sleep at all once He lay down?  Who fixed His dinners?  Did He have the luxury we take for granted of putting on clean clothes any of these mornings?

If we had been living then, what a privilege it would have been to bring Him a bagel with lox (or my mom’s famous egg casserole and a cup of steaming coffee) as He awoke.  We would have gladly dusted our guest rooms and made the beds with clean sheets if we had the opportunity to provide the Son of God a place to lay His head.

Years ago we heard of a young couple with a new baby sleeping in a dresser drawer.  What fun it was to brush away the cobwebs and clean up our daughters’ crib and offer it to them in the name of Jesus.  In my mind, I imagined providing the Christ Child a bed to replace His manger.

This week I’m on cobweb and bed freshening detail again in preparation for guests.  We will provide hospitality for young men traveling around the country who will present skits about Easter on Sunday morning.  I think I don’t have the time this week and can’t afford eight extra meals when my cupboard is bare, but I know it is the right thing to do and am certain my husband and I will be the ones blessed most.

Paul instructs us, “Share with God’s people who are in need.  Practice hospitality.”  Romans 12:13 NIV  In Philemon 7 he writes, “Your love has given me great joy and encouragement, because you, brother, have refreshed the hearts of the saints.”  My eyes grow wide to read this sentence, “Be sure to welcome strangers into your home.  By doing this, some people have welcomed angels as guests, without even knowing it.  Hebrews 13:2 CEB

Sunday Morning

Sunday Morning (Photo credit: jspaw)

Had we lived in Jesus’ day, we would have done anything to give Him comfort.  Now our opportunities are to “refresh the hearts of the saints” by offering a bed, a meal, helping fund Kelly’s mission trip to South Africa, filling a gas tank…  When I picture Jesus sleeping His last nights on a hill and looking among the leaves of a fig tree for breakfast, I sleep better knowing I am running a short-term bed and breakfast in His name.  My dear, fellow lutists, what will you do for someone in need this holy week and do it as unto Jesus?